Tags

, , , , , ,

OMG. Not sure where to begin here. I love meat. All kinds of meat actually, so when I started eating vegan foods a few years ago I was really surprised how much I liked it.

So a few months ago I was getting my hair done by my very talented stylist and she said, “would you like to try one my vegan treats?” Well anyone who knows me knows I would not turn down a treat, vegan or not. 

She gave me one of these vegan salted caramels and I came to realize 2 things. 

#1 – I love being blond, completely unrelated to food, but I do.

#2 – I could eat the entire container of these vegan babies. 

They are super simple to make but you do need a food processor to make them, so if you don’t have one borrow one from your neighbor. 

  • 2 cups of pitted dates
  • 1 cup of tahini ( seseme paste)
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 3 tbs coconut oil
  • Sea salt ( Maldon salt) 

Throw everything into your food processer except the salt. Process it until it is smooth, takes a minute or two.

Once smooth spread into a parchment paper lined 9 by 9 metal pan. Sprinkle with sea salt. This is KEY! You need salt to get the right balance. Then put it in the freezer for 90 mins. Remove. Cut into cubes ( I got approx 50). Keep them in the freezer in an air tight container. They won’t last long though…

Devour and smile. Until next time, eat and be happy!